1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »About
  5. »Facilities
  6. »Dairy Unit

Animal Sciences and Industry

Dairy Teaching and Research Center

3181 Animal Science Road
Manhattan, KS 66506
537-0941
785-532-5681 fax
scheffel@k-state.edu

Description

Official dedication of the current Dairy Teaching and Research Center, constructed at a cost of $1.444 million, was held December 3, 1977. The facility houses approximately 300 cows and have 300 replacement heifer calves being developed for milk production. Research work regarding dairy nutrition, housing, management and other related areas is conducted at the Unit.

Located on Animal Science Road North of Marlatt Avenue, the Unit is available for tours and visits. This includes watching the milking operation, walking through the calf management area and observing the various systems for housing the cows. Contact Ron Pope at 785-532-5404 or rvpope@k-state.edu to schedule a tour.

Faculty & Staff

Management Staff

Michael Scheffel
Research Assistant - Dairy Unit Manager
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
scheffel@k-state.edu

Support Staff

Dan Umscheid
Animal Science Technician I - Dairy Unit
139 Call Hall
785-537-8993
dumschei@k-state.edu

Robert Feist
Agricultural Technician- Senior
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
robert4@k-state.edu

Kristine Frey
Research Assistant
139 Call Hall
785-532-0941
klfrey@k-state.edu

Morgan Taylor
Research Assistant 139 Call Hall
785-539-4971
morgan28@k-state.edu

Eulises Corrales
Agricultural Technician
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
eulises@k-state.edu

Alan Hubbard
Agricultural Technician
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
ahubbard@k-state.edu

Levi Peter
Agricultural Technician
3161 Animal Science Road
785-537-0941
levi10@k-state.edu

Cory Sunderman
Agricultural Technician
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
sundermanc@k-state.edu