1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »Events
  5. »Ranch Management Seminars

Animal Sciences and Industry

Winter Ranch Management Seminars

The seminar series will highlight 'Corrals, Calcium, Costs and Cows: Management and Profit Strategies for 2018' for beef producers and allow producers to ask questions of their local, district and state extension specialists. The specialists will answer a wide range of questions on beef cattle issues surrounding animal health, nutrition, management, genetics and reproduction during the Town Hall Q & A.

logo

 

>> Watch videos from the 2018 Seminars

2018 Proceedings

Cost, Profit and Production Benchmarking — Sandy Johnson

Stockmanship and Facilities — Justin W. Waggoner

Control of Sericea Lespedeza using Late-Season Prescribed Burning — KC Olson

Optimizing The Cow Herd Through Cow/Heifer Selection — Bob Weaber

 

2018 Winter Ranch Management locations and contacts include:

Beloit
Date: Tuesday, February 6, 2018; 5:30 - 8:30 PM
Location: NCK Technical College
3033 US HWY 24
Beloit, KS

RSVP by January 30, 2018 to:
Barrett Simon, Post Rock Extension District, 785-378-3174; barrett8@ksu.edu
Katelyn Brockus, River Valley District, 785-325-2121; kbrockus@ksu.edu
Clint Laflin, Midway Extension District, 785-483-3157; cllaflin@ksu.edu

 

Olsburg
Date: Wednesday, February 7, 2018; 5:30-8:30 PM
Location: McCormick Elementary
109 N First St.
Olsburg, KS 66520

RSVP by January 31, 2018, online at www.pottawatomie.ksu.edu or call Pottawatomie Co. Extension Office at 785-457-3319.

For more information contact:
Anastasia Johnson, Marshall Co. Extension, 785-562-3531; anastasia@ksu.edu
Greg McClure, Riley Co. Extension, 785-537-6350; gmcclure@ksu.edu
Shannon Blocker, Pottawatomie Co. Extension, 785-457-3319; sblocker@ksu.edu

 

Dighton
Date: Thursday, February 8, 2018; 5:30 - 8:30 PM
Location: Lane County Fairgrounds
Dighton, KS

RSVP by February 1, 2018 to:
Jared Petersilie, Walnut Creek District, 620-397-2806; jaredp11@ksu.edu

 

Hepler
Date: Tuesday, February 13, 2018; 5:30 – 8:30 PM
Location: Community Building, Hepler, KS

RSVP by February 1, 2018 to:
Chris Petty, Southwind Extension District, 620-223-3720; cgp@ksu.edu
Keith Martin, Wildcat Extension District, 620-784-5337; rkmartin@ksu.edu

 

Meeting location:      Meeting Date/Time:                 RSVP by:

Beloit                       February 6; 5:30-8:30 PM          January 30

 

Olsburg                   February 7; 5:30-8:30 PM         January 31

 

Dighton                  February 8; 5:30-8:30 PM          February 1

 

Hepler                    February 13; 5:30-8:30 PM        February 6

 

 

For More Information

Dr. Bob Weaber
785-532-1460
bweaber@ksu.edu

Lois Schreiner
785-532-1267
lschrein@ksu.edu