1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »Students & Programs
  5. »Youth Programs
  6. »K-State Animal Science Leadership Academy

Animal Sciences and Industry

Animal Sciences and Industry

Kansas State University
232 Weber Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-8028


Email: asi@ksu.edu

K-State Animal Science Leadership Academy

The K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy is an intensive four day educational experience designed to enhance the leadership skills and animal science knowledge of high school students.  The program is hosted by K-State Animal Sciences and Industry and sponsored by the Livestock and Meat Industry Council. The goal of this academy will be to further develop young leaders within the livestock industry and prepare them for a successful future in this field.

Students will stay on campus in university housing with event staff for the duration of the event. Twenty students will be accepted for each session. The application process is open to out-of-state students.

We are pleased to announce that the Livestock and Meat Industry Council will be sponsoring two K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy sessions in 2016.

Congratulations to our 2016 Academy Participants:

Week One – June 8-11
Emily Albright, Delia; Jenae Anderson, Wathena; James Borgerding, Marysville; Greyson Collins, St. John; Conner Cross, Wilkinson, IN; Rayli Cunningham, Rosston, OK; Miranda Depenbusch, Udall; Cara DeTar, Coffeyville; Taylor Dieball, Little River; Makenzie Downes, Council Grove; Grady Hammer, Wallace; Jay Henry, Wasburn, MO; Anna Hixon, Belle Plain; Jake Joeckel, Paola; Campbell Martin, Bucklin; Brooke McNickle, Stafford; Thomas Parsons, Dexter; Rachael Peterson, Leondarville; Carolgene Romans, Higginsville, MO; Andrea Vandever-Moore, McPherson.

Week Two – June 29-July 2
Logan Allen, Gardner; Grace Baxter, Dripping Springs, TX; Reid Beeman, Olpe; Tyler Boss, Richmond, MO; Kelsey Bradford, Leavenworth; Leeanna Burton, Drexel, MO; Haley Chadwick, Shawnee; Caitlin Dreher, Iola; Jade Edwards, Hamilton; Corbin Gauthier, El Dorado; Emma Jolley, McLouth; Mable Mestagh, McLouth; Elizabeth Mitsch, Andover; Ty Montgomery, Coats; Aaron Mott, Rocheport, MO; Shiloh Murray, Pratt; Judd Nelson, Soldier; Lexi Peoples, Prairie Grove, AR; Shelby Smith, Grabill, IN; Mara Weis, Afton, IA.

We look forward to these students joining us on campus this summer!

For questions about the academy, please contact Sharon Breiner, Director, at sbreiner@ksu.edu.

Like us on Facebook for updates and announcements. Facebook


For more information, about the program:
Application form || Printable flyer


2015 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy

2015 Class 1
2015 Class 2

2015 Press Release


2014 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy 


2014 Press Release 


2013 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy

KASLA 2013 Photo

2013 KASLA Participant List


2012 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy

2012 Leadership Academy - Small

2012 KASLA Participant List


2011 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy

2011 Leadership Academy - Small




















2011 KASLA Participant List


2010 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy

2010 Leadership Academy - Small

2010 KASLA Participant List


2009 K-State Animal Sciences Leadership Academy


2009 KASLA Participant List