1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »About
  5. »Facilities
  6. »Dairy Unit

Animal Sciences and Industry

Dairy Teaching and Research Center

3161 Animal Science Road
Manhattan, KS 66506
537-0941
785-532-5681 fax
scheffel@k-state.edu

Description

Official dedication of the current Dairy Teaching and Research Center, constructed at a cost of $1.444 million, was held December 3, 1977. The facility houses approximately 300 Holstein cows, including 300 baby calves and heifers being developed as future replacements. Research and teaching regarding dairy nutrition, reproduction, health, housing, management, and other related areas is conducted at the Center. Undergraduate students are employed part-time.

Located on Animal Science Road north of Marlatt Avenue, the Center is available for tours and visits. This includes observing the milking operation, walking through the calf housing and maternity area, and viewing the housing for milking and dry cows. Contact Ron Pope at 785-532-5404 or rvpope@k-state.edu to schedule a tour.

Faculty & Staff

Mike Brouk
Professor/Extension Specialist
134 Call Hall 
785-532-1207
mbrouk@k-state.edu

Management Staff

Michael Scheffel
Farm Manager - Dairy Unit Manager
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
scheffel@k-state.edu

Support Staff

Kristine Frey
Research Assistant 
139 Call Hall 
785-532-0941
klfrey@k-state.edu

Robert "Bo" Fiest
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
robert4@k-state.edu

Eulises Corrales 
Animal Technician II  
139 Call Hall 
785-537-0941
eulises@k-state.edu

Anthony Hecht 
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall 
785-537-0941
hect138@k-state.edu

Robert Ramming
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall 
785-537-0941
ramming@k-state.edu