1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »About
  5. »Facilities
  6. »Dairy Unit

Animal Sciences and Industry

Dairy Teaching and Research Center

3181 Animal Science Road
Manhattan, KS 66506
537-0941
785-532-5681 fax
scheffel@k-state.edu

Description

Official dedication of the current Dairy Teaching and Research Center, constructed at a cost of $1.444 million, was held December 3, 1977. The facility houses approximately 300 cows and have 300 replacement heifer calves being developed for milk production. Research work regarding dairy nutrition, housing, management and other related areas is conducted at the Unit.

Located on Animal Science Road North of Marlatt Avenue, the Unit is available for tours and visits. This includes watching the milking operation, walking through the calf management area and observing the various systems for housing the cows. Contact Ron Pope at 785-532-5404 or rvpope@k-state.edu to schedule a tour.

Faculty & Staff

Management Staff

Michael Scheffel
Farm Manager - Dairy Unit Manager
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
scheffel@k-state.edu

Support Staff

Kristine Frey
Research Assistant 
139 Call Hall 
785-532-0941
klfrey@k-state.edu

Morgan Taylor 
Research Assistant 
139 Call Hall 
785-539-4971
morgan28@k-state.edu

Robert "Bo" Fiest
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
robert4@k-state.edu

Eulises Corrales 
Animal Technician II  
139 Call Hall 
785-537-0941
eulises@k-state.edu

Anthony Hecht
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall 
785-537-0941
hect138@k-state.edu

Tyler Ohlde
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
tohlde@k-state.edu

Cory Sunderman
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
sundermanc@k-state.edu

Alexandrea Eckert
Animal Technician II
139 Call Hall
785-537-0941
leckert@k-state.edu