1. K-State home
  2. »College of Agriculture
  3. »ASI
  4. »Events
  5. »Ranch Management Seminars

Animal Sciences and Industry

Winter Ranch Management Seminars

Strategies to mitigate environmental factors impacting reproduction is the theme of the 2019 Kansas State University Winter Ranch Management Seminar Series. Topics to be discussed are environmental factors affecting conception rates and the influence of forage quality and availability on beef cow nutrition during late gestation and into the breeding season. The meetings will also feature a popular ‘town-hall’ style question and answer session between Kansas’ cattle producers and extension specialists. The specialists will answer a wide range of questions on beef cattle issues including animal health, nutrition, management, genetics and reproduction.

 

logo

2019 Winter Ranch Management locations and contacts include:

Minneapolis
Date: Tuesday, February 5, 2019; 5:30 – 8:30 PM
Location: Minneapolis Grade School (North Gymnasium Entrance), 312 Delia Ave, Minneapolis, KS  67467
RSVP by January 29, 2019 to:

Cade Rensink, Central Kansas District 785-392-2147; crensink@ksu.edu
Barrett Simon, Post Rock Extension District 785-378-3174; barrett8@ksu.edu
Brett Melton, River Valley District 785-243-8185; bmelton@ksu.edu
Clint Laflin, Midway Extension District 785-483-3157; cllaflin@ksu.edu

Jetmore
Date: Tuesday, February 19, 2019; Noon – 3:30PM
Location: Hodgeman County 4-H Building, 1005 Atkin, Jetmore, KS 67854
RSVP by February 12, 2019 to:

DeWayne Craghead, Hodgeman Co. Extension
620-357-8321; dcraghea@ksu.edu

Rush Center
Date: Tuesday, February 19, 2019; 5:30 – 8:30 PM
Location: Township Hall, 220 Union Street, Rush Center, KS
RSVP by February 12, 2019 to:

Alicia Boor, Great Bend Office, Cottonwood Extension District
620-793-1910; aboor@ksu.edu

Jared Petersilie, LaCrosse Office, Walnut Creek Extension District 785-222-2710; jaredp11@ksu.edu

McPherson
Date: Tuesday, February 26, 2018; 12:45 – 3:45 PM
Location: McPherson County Extension Office, 600 W. Woodside, McPherson, KS 67640
RSVP by February 19, 2018 to:

Terra Regehr, McPherson Co. Extension Office Professional
620-241-1523; tregehr@ksu.edu

For more information:
Shad Marston, McPherson Co. Extension Agriculture Agent
620-241-1523; smarston@ksu.edu

 

Meeting times and registration fees vary by location, but all will include a meal. Participants are asked to RSVP for a selected location by the close of business one week prior to the event. Interested participants should contact their local host contact for registration and RSVP details.

 

 

2018 Archive

>> Watch videos from the 2018 Seminars

2018 Proceedings

Cost, Profit and Production Benchmarking — Sandy Johnson

Stockmanship and Facilities — Justin W. Waggoner

Control of Sericea Lespedeza using Late-Season Prescribed Burning — KC Olson

Optimizing The Cow Herd Through Cow/Heifer Selection — Bob Weaber

 

 

 

For More Information

Dr. Bob Weaber
785-532-1460
bweaber@ksu.edu

Lois Schreiner
785-532-1267
lschrein@ksu.edu